Poly Alumni Association Board Welcomes New Leadership and Members for 2023-2024!

We are pleased to announce the appointment of new Alumni Board President, Jethro Rothe-Kushel ’99, P’34 and new board members Brooke Cutler ’98, Mackenzie Lee ’12, Bianca Torres-Murray ’20.
Alumni Board President: 

Jethro Rothe-Kushel ’99, P’34
Jethro has served on the Alumni Board for the last 4 years, most recently as the Network Chair. His two year tenure began July 1. 

Some stories lead to tragedy while others lead to transformation. Jethro has spent 20 years studying what stories make the greatest impact in transforming human lives. 

After graduating cum laude from Dartmouth College, he started his career producing a social issues documentary about homelessness in Los Angeles. After a stint in commercial production marketing for Fortune 500 brands and as a producer for film and television including the Oscars, 24 movies, and work as an investigative journalist for the Emmy and Peabody award winning series Frontline for PBS, he was elected as the youngest Vice President of the National Board of Directors for the Producers Guild of America where he has served as a Vice President and on the Finance Committee.  Along with Jeffrey Katzenberg, Dawn Hudson, and local leaders, he helped influence the $1-Billion investment in the Lucas Museum of Narrative Art to come to Los Angeles in 2025.  After being recruited for LA County, he served as Communications and Marketing Director for Consumer and Business Affairs where he was responsible for leading the Communications Bureau working with 10,000,000 consumers, and 244,000 businesses. For over a decade he has worked closely with The NY Times, LA Times, Washington Post, CNN, ABC, CBS, and Fox.
Jethro lives in Altadena with his wife Brittany and daughter Leylah ’34. 

Our three newly elected members:

Brooke Cutler ’98 is Vice President for Kati Collective. Kati is Swahili for “in the center or middle of,” and the global consulting collaborative focuses on understanding, analyzing, and advancing equity. With experts located across Africa, Southeast Asia, the U.S., and Europe, the firm offers customized approaches to client needs for strategy development, evaluation, process management, and co-creation with local organizations. Brooke focuses her work on the intersection of global health, digital technology, and gender issues. She strongly believes in digital human rights and in an individual’s right to protect their personal information as they navigate health systems and receive care. In much of her work, she centers women and girls, particularly regarding their access to reproductive and maternal health. She also has many years of experience providing strategic direction to organizations that are dedicated to increasing health care access to prevent infectious disease. Brooke previously worked at the Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation (2018-2020) and for Mobile Alliance for Maternal Action (MAMA) at the United Nations (2012-2016). She has consulted with the White Ribbon Alliance, the Levi Strauss Foundation, and the Health Data Collaborative. She was a Senior Policy Analyst for New York City under Mayor Michael Bloomberg. She currently serves on the board of the The Mayer Foundation. 

Brooke holds a BA from Carnegie Mellon University and an MPA from Columbia University’s School of International and Public Affairs.

Mackenzie Lee ’12 completed her MBA at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business this past June. She previously worked for consulting firm, McKinsey. Her professional focus is on innovation and incubation strategies.

Mackenzie is also an Advisor with Afton Bloom, a women-led organization dedicated to promoting tangible progress in gender and racial equity. With Afton Bloom, she is currently working with Pivotal Ventures, founded by Melinda French Gates, who was formerly married to Microsoft founder Bill Gates. Melinda is also co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Pivotal Ventures works toward a stated goal of accelerating social progress in the U.S. through high-impact investments, partnerships, and advocacy.

Mackenzie earned her undergraduate degree from Yale University, studying Global Affairs at Saybrook College. At Yale, she was a Yale Tour Guide, coxswain on the Men’s Heavyweight Crew Team, CFO of Yale’s chapter of Kappa Alpha Theta, a member of Rhythmic Blue, Yale’s only hip-hop and contemporary dance group, and a translator for the Law School.

Bianca Torres-Murray ’20 is a rising senior at UC Berkeley, majoring in Ethnic Studies and minoring in Human Rights. Torres-Murray was recently elected to serve as a 2023-2024 Associated Students of the University of California (ASUC) Senator at UC Berkeley, forming policy, passing bills, and allocating funding at UC Berkeley. Torres-Murray was also voted in by UC Berkeley's Latinx Community and Queer Community to be an official Latinx Community Endorsed Senator and QT+ Community Endorsed Senator. 

Torres-Murray also participates in the Cal Latinx Business Student Association (LBSA), having served as an intern on various of their committees, and in Cal's Raíces Recruitment and Retention Center as a volunteer for their Outreach Committee, helping retain and recruit Latinx students to higher education. 

She is a researcher at UC Berkeley Law School's Center on Comparative Equality and Anti-Discrimination Law and was selected as the Center's co-lead of its Global Systemic Racism Group. 

She has also been extensively involved in the ASUC prior to her election, serving as a community engagement associate for ASUC Senator Chaka Tellem, an academic professional opportunities associate for ASUC President Tellem, and recently, a federal government affairs associate for the ASUC's External Affairs Vice President, lobbying to politicians in D.C. and Sacramento on behalf of UC Berkeley students.

New board leadership also includes Philanthropy Chair, Caitlin Latta ’07 and Network Chair, Andrew Schwartz ’96 who join Nominating Chair, John Coogan ’07, DEI Co-Chairs, Anton Anderson ’85 and Sarah Schoellkopf ’92.

Meet your Alumni Board for 2023-2024!

Jethro Rothe-Kushel ’99, P'34  |  President
Anton Anderson ’85; P’34  |  DEI Committee Co-Chair
Pradip Chandrasoma ’05  
John Coogan ’07  |  Nominating Committee Chair
Daniel Cunningham ’91; P’29
Brooke Cutler ’98
Marisa Echeverria '96, P’30,’32
Richard Kim ’98; P’34,’36
Elise Kuo ’07
Caitlin Latta ’07 |  Philanthropy Committee Chair
Mackenzie Lee ’12
Joseph Masters ’18
Bianca Torres-Murray ’20
Katrina Kuehn Onderdonk ’93; P’21, ’24
Jennifer Rho ’00
Andrew Schwartz ’96 |  Network Committee Chair
Sarah Schoellkopf ’92  |  DEI Committee Co-Chair
Natalie Kolawa Stone ’03, P’36
Emily Williams ’86
Alexander Wyman ’05; P’34,'35
Student Representatives: Sharon C. ’24 and Annabelle C. ’25
A very big thank you to both outgoing President, Elisa Rodriguez ’01, P’32 ,’34 and board member Amit Sura ’00 for their dedicated service as they stepped off the Alumni Board on June 30.

Please contact the Alumni Office with any questions about the Alumni Association activities or the Alumni Board!