Cum Laude Society

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is a national honor society modeled on Phi Beta Kappa to recognize the scholastic achievement of seniors in secondary schools. Since its founding, the Cum Laude Society has grown to 382 chapters, approximately two dozen of which are located in public schools and the rest in independent schools. Membership is predominantly in the United States, but chapters also are located in Canada, England, France, Spain, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines.

The motto of the Cum Laude Society is Areté, Diké, Timé—Greek words which translate into Excellence, Justice, and Honor. The motto, along with grade point average and rigor of coursework, is considered when nominating society members. Up to 20% of the members of the senior class, who have an honor record may be elected.

Last week, members of the Class of 2021 were selected for membership and will be formally recognized at Honors Day. They are as follows:

Kareem Ammar
Sarah Chin 
Sierra Dahiyat 
Sophie David 
Jack Duncan 
Maggie Grether 
Hill, Molly
Caitlin Huntsman 
Caroline Kelleher 
Lauren Kidman 
Audrey Kim 
Tori Kim 
Benjamin Knell 
Ryan Lee 
Michaela Patzakis 
Neil Rowe 
Madelena Ruedaflores 
Alexandra Segal 
Kyle Torres